Digital Client Onboarding “Balboa”

For the first time, Baloise Bank SoBa and Basler Insurance implemented a cross-divisional software solution to improve the customer experience during onboarding. Together with ubitec, they designed a new, holistic solution to register for new banking and

Logo of Baloise Group

Company

Basler Insurance and Baloise Bank SoBa

Sector

Insurance, Finance

Location

Basel / Solothurn

Service

Basler Versicherungen and Baloise Bank SoBa jointly act as financial service providers for companies and private individuals.

Website

The challenge

Unused synergies, high throughput times

The modernization of client onboarding has been a focus of attention for Baloise Bank SoBa and Basler Insurance for quite some time. Cumbersome process steps and a lack of support in customer consulting led to long processing times and insufficient data quality for both parties. Accordingly, they pursued the same goal: a digital platform that would enable them to benefit from common synergies and automate processes. Furthermore, the new onboarding solution should make it possible to link the diverse systems of both companies and optimally integrate all persons involved in the process. Last but not least, both companies wanted to move away from manual checks of new customer relationships, internal checklists and physical documents.
We offer customers an uncomplicated conclusion of a contract without annoying forms or paper contracts. In a customer advisory service, we thus guide our counterpart in dialogue through the interactive and completely digital process - simply and securely.
Marco Meneghini
Project Manager Baloise Bank SoBa

The solution

Everybody participates

At the beginning, the project team analyzed the obstacles and needs of onboarding new customers in order to design the appropriate solution. This resulted in a tool called “Balboa”, which offers support in customer contact as well as in professional data processing in the core banking system. This allows employees to concentrate on the essentials during a consultation: building new customer relationships – personally and yet digitally. The new customer experience arouses curiosity about the broad product ranges of banking and insurance. While the advisor guides the customer through the intuitive process, the other person is curious about the broad product ranges of banks and insurance companies. The interactive user experience lets everyone playfully participate in the process. Contracts are generated in real time and can be signed during the consultation with a qualified electronic signature (QES) using a smartphone. At the end of the consultation, an IBAN is directly reserved in the core banking system for the new customer relationship. This means that the first transactions are already possible from this point on. Opening an account or applying for a life insurance policy now only takes a few minutes.

12

systems

are operated fully automatically with information during the end-to-end process.

80

percent

of the documents are signed with a qualified electronic signature (QES).

100

percent

Customer satisfaction thanks to interactive user experience.

The result

Supporting the back office

The Baloise Bank SoBa back office team also benefits from the new client onboarding. Thanks to “Balboa”, efficiency in processing customer dossiers has been significantly increased, as the software communicates with twelve different banking and insurance systems during the end-to-end process for fully automated information exchange. The back office employees always retain control of the open steps in the specially developed task overview – quasi THE central processing point. This makes processes less error-prone and much clearer. Never before has it been so easy for back-office teams to allocate tasks and meet deadlines. Thanks to ubitec’s support, both the bank and the insurance company were able to take another important step towards their strategic goal of “Simply Safe” with “Balboa”.

Benefits

Digital Client Onboarding „Balboa“

Zum ersten Mal realisierten die Baloise Bank SoBa und die Basler Versicherungen eine bereichsübergreifende Software-Lösung, um die Kundenerfahrung beim Onboarding zu verbessern. Gemeinsam mit ubitec gestalteten sie eine neue, gesamtheitliche Prozesslösung für die Eröffnung neuer Bank- und Versicherungsprodukte. Dank umfassender Systemanbindungen und digital signierten Verträgen werden redundante und manuelle Arbeiten im Backoffice nicht nur reduziert, sondern durch die neue User Experience spielerisch in Szene gesetzt.

Logo der Baloise Group

Firma

Basler Versicherungen und Baloise Bank Soba AG

Branche

Finanzen & Versicherungen

Standort

Basel / Solothurn

Angebot

Die Basler Versicherungen und die Baloise Bank SoBa agieren gemeinsam als Finanzdienstleister für Unternehmen und Privatpersonen.

Website

die Herausforderung

Ungenutzte Synergien, hohe Durchlaufzeiten

Die Modernisierung des Client-Onboardings stand sowohl bei der Baloise Bank SoBa als auch bei den Basler Versicherungen bereits länger im Fokus. Umständliche Prozessschritte und mangelnde Unterstützung in der Kundenberatung führten bei beiden Parteien zu langen Durchlaufzeiten und ungenügender Datenqualität. Entsprechend verfolgten sie dasselbe Ziel: eine digitale Plattform, die es ermöglicht von gemeinsamen Synergien zu profitieren und Prozesse zu automatisieren. Weiter sollte es durch die neue Onboarding-Lösung gelingen, die vielfältigen Systeme beider Unternehmen zu verknüpfen und alle am Prozess beteiligten Personen optimal einzubinden. Nicht zuletzt wollten beide Unternehmen weg von manuellen Prüfungen neuer Kundenbeziehungen, internen Checklisten und physischen Dokumenten.
Wir bieten Kundinnen und Kunden einen unkomplizierten Abschluss ohne lästige Formulare oder Papierverträge. In einer Kundenberatung führen wir so unser Gegenüber im Dialog durch den interaktiven und komplett digitalen Prozess – einfach und sicher.
Marco Meneghini
Projektleiter Baloise Bank SoBa

die Lösung

Alle wirken mit

Zu Beginn analysierte das Projektteam die Hindernisse und Bedürfnisse beim Onboarding von neuen Kundinnen und Kunden, um anschliessend den geeigneten Lösungsweg zu entwerfen. Dadurch entstand ein Tool namens «Balboa», welches sowohl im Kundenkontakt als auch in der professionellen Datenverarbeitung im Kernbankensystem Unterstützung bietet. So können sich die Mitarbeitenden während einer Beratung auf das Wesentliche konzentrieren: den Aufbau neuer Kundenbeziehungen – persönlich und trotzdem digital. Das neue Kundenerlebnis macht neugierig auf die breiten Produktpaletten von Bank und Versicherung. Während die beratende Person durch den intuitiven Prozess leitet, macht es das Gegenüber auf die breiten Produktpaletten von Bank und Versicherung neugierig. Die interaktive User Experience lässt dabei alle spielerisch am Prozess mitwirken. Verträge werden in Echtzeit generiert und können während dem Beratungsgespräch mit einer qualifizierten elektronischen Signatur (QES) mit dem Smartphone unterschrieben werden. Am Ende des Beratungsgesprächs wird für die neue Kundenbeziehung direkt eine IBAN im Kernbankensystem reserviert. Dadurch sind erste Transaktionen bereits ab diesem Zeitpunkt möglich. Eine Kontoeröffnung oder das Beantragen einer Lebensversicherung dauert so nur noch wenige Minuten.

12

Systeme

werden während des End-to-End-Prozesses vollautomatisiert mit Informationen bedient.

80

Prozent

der Dokumente werden mit einer qualifizierten elektronischen Signatur (QES) unterzeichnet.

100

Prozent

Kundenzufriedenheit dank interaktiver User Experience.

das Ergebnis

Entlastung im Backoffice

Auch das Backoffice-Team der Baloise Bank SoBa profitiert vom neuen Client-Onboarding. Dank «Balboa» konnte die Effizienz bei der Verarbeitung von Kundendossiers deutlich gesteigert werden, da die Software während des End-to-End-Prozesses mit zwölf verschiedenen Bank- und Versicherungssystemen für den vollautomatisierten Informationsaustausch kommuniziert. Die Mitarbeitenden im Backoffice behalten dabei stets die Kontrolle über die offenen Schritte in der eigens dafür entwickelten Aufgabenübersicht – quasi DIE zentrale Verarbeitungsstelle. Durch diese werden Prozesse weniger fehleranfällig und deutlich übersichtlicher. Noch nie war es für die Backoffice-Teams so einfach, Aufgaben zu verteilen und Deadlines einzuhalten. Durch ubitecs Unterstützung gelang es sowohl Bank als auch Versicherung, mit «Balboa» einen weiteren wichtigen Schritt in Richtung ihres Strategieziels «Simply Safe» zu gehen.

Vorteile